Le Caveau du Château in Ampuis, the history
Named the “Clos Joly” this building at the entrance of Ampuis was built in 1892. It is difficult to retrace its history as only a handful of the older generation share some knowledge about it. However, it does seem that it was named after its owners in the XIXth century, the Joly ladies.
It was bought at the beginning of the XXth century by the Vidal family and used by Joseph Vidal and his wife Jeannette as a holiday home. During this period the gardens were inhabited by several peacocks belonging to Mrs Vidal.
The place was then used to house harvesters and vats for vinifying Côte-Rôtie and other wines from the Rhône Valley. At the beginning of the last century the Vidal family owned several vineyards and already enjoyed a reputation for the quality of their wines.
In the ‘30’s Marcel’s father and Philippe’s grandfather, Etienne Guigal was involved in building the reputation of the property; in the first few years of his employment with the Vidal family he planted the trees in the gardens. Some of the cedars he planted can still be admired today on the property.
In the ‘80’s the Guigal family acquired this property as part of their purchase of Vidal-Fleury and it was a natural choice to select this building when they began studies to build a vault. What could make more sense than to establish their tasting cellars in one of the most stunning residences in Ampuis, previously owned by the Vidal family and home to some of the first trees planted by Etienne Guigal.